It’s about time

I have decided it is time to start training for another Ironman. My first full Ironman was in St. George in 2011. It was brutally difficult but an incredible experience. When I completed it I suffered from what I call post-parIM. It was one of those things where for more than a year the one constant thought was my Ironman. When I completed it, it was like I lost a friend. Just when I started climbing out of that depression I broke my femur. Since then I have completed some events here and there. I did the 70.3 St. George Ironman in 2014, I completed my first marathon since 2011 in March of this year (2015), and a few weeks ago did a half marathon in a time of 1:50:40. It is the best I have run in years. But, I really haven’t trained like I should have for any of those events. I haven’t been truly healthy and need to lose weight.

So now I am putting this on paper, or the Internet, to hold me accountable. As of now I plan to do the Ironman Boulder in Colorado in 2016, five years after my first one. The official date has yet to be announced, so I hope it works out. I was going to do Coure d’alene but they moved it to late August and my kids are in school by that time. My options are limited because I really want my family there and having it within driving distance will keep the cost down.


I’ll try to keep writing to hold myself accountable. The first thing I need to do is lose weight while training for the St. George marathon this October.

Today I ran 4 miles in 37:40 – 9:24/mile pace. It rained like crazy. I’m out of shape but it was fun.

About kromeril

I'll come up with something
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s about time

  1. We’ll be watching!

Leave a Reply

