Race Week – Confidence Restored

Only 4 days left to Ironman and things are again right with the world. This last weekend I was supposed to go out on a 3 hour bike ride. The weather was pretty awful with snow covering the ground when I woke up. I kept postponing the inevitable and as the afternoon was winding down I decided I better head out…but now I was resigned to only ride for 2 hours. I bundled up and headed out. I immediately noticed that I had a high heart-rate of 158-162, and I was only going 14-15 mph. I felt awful and just as I finally started picking up my pace I suffered a flat tire. 45 minutes into my workout and I was stuck on the side of the road trying to figure out why my tools weren’t working. The pump contraption that forces the CO2 into the tire wasn’t working and I was completely demoralized. I called Emily to come pick me up and I gave up on any more exercise.

After questioning what I have been doing for the past 6 months and what I was about to do in less than a week I decided to just try and have some solid workouts. On Monday during lunch I headed to the pool. I was only swimming 1600 yards and by the time I was done I had swam the fastest I ever had during training over the past 6 months. I didn’t feel like I was working that hard so it was a great boost. And then after work I went outside to bike again. It was completely different than Saturday. It went great, I averaged over 18 mph with a decent climb and I was able to keep my heart-rate under control.

Then today I went for my last moderate run and was able to keep my heart-rate in the 130 zone at a pretty decent pace. I am now confident…and even more important…I am aerodynamic.

I no longer look like this…(what a difference a day and a razor makes)

About kromeril

I'll come up with something
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

